Who’s Holding the Pen and Writing Your Life Story?

If it’s not you, then it’s time to take your power back

Suzanna Quintana
The Virago
Published in
6 min readOct 24, 2020

--

For the majority of my life, I had no idea I wasn’t in control of it.

Having left the home of an emotionally abusive father at the age of eighteen, then diving headfirst into abusive marriage number one and subsequently abusive marriage number two before the ink on the divorce papers was even dry, I thought I was the content creator of my life.

It was only after having my life implode did I realize this was not the case.

Throughout my teenage years and into my twenties, thirties, and early forties, I followed the road of complacency that my own mother had followed, totally oblivious to the idea that there was another way. I was not only not in control of the way my life played out, but I assumed this was the path all women were on.

The moment the mirror does not recognize us anymore, the cards are no longer in our hands. In effect, we have failed to see to the bottom line of our life story and lost our identity. Erik Pevernagie

If life were a highway, any man I loved drove the car and I rode shotgun. Of course, I often held the map and had a say in the direction we went, sometimes even convincing the driver to veer completely off course and…

--

--

Suzanna Quintana
The Virago

My voice is my superpower. Editor-in-Chief of The Virago. Founder of The Online Sanctuary for Healing After Narcissistic Abuse. www.suzannaquintana.com