Update: Taking this blog to new grounds

Twarit Waikar
The Virtual Diary
Published in
2 min readDec 6, 2018

There haven’t been any updates on this blog for the last 5–6 months, and this saddens me.

The particular reason for not writing here more is not that I wasn’t finding any interesting game to write a blog about (I always keep playing/discovering new games in my free time), but instead, it is the fact that my interests have shown me otherwise.

When I started this blog I was deeply interested in game design and the process of keeping things interesting for the player. This was a vessel in which I was practicing and learning about game design on my own. But during the past few months, I have been studying technologies that are more aligned with the making of technologies that run these types of games.

Video games are increasingly becoming a complex phenomenon. They are slowly being regarded as pieces of art (for some reason that I don’t understand, they weren’t known to be much insightful/artful a decade ago). I would love to be a part of such pieces of art and the best way that I think I can contribute to them is to help build technologies that build these pieces of art.

I would also love to call myself a game designer before a game developer but my realizations have told me that I can’t do both and I am better at the later.

Concludingly, I won’t be stopping any game design analyses, but you can expect to see some technical blogs in here too.

Here’s to a new start!

--

--

Twarit Waikar
The Virtual Diary

Learning programmer, game engineer, and game designer. Find me by @IronicallySerious online