Why is this blog?

Twarit Waikar
The Virtual Diary
Published in
2 min readMay 12, 2018

I am your usual college student that was inspired to make games in his childhood. I am Twarit Waikar, a CSE undergraduate student at IIT Roorkee(Batch of 2021) in India.

This blog is my attempt at trying to understand the philosophy of game design and hopefully use the same principles in my own projects. Every entry in this blog shall be a complete analysis of the design decisions involved in a recent game that I played.

On a first glance, I am afraid this blog would come off as a very pretentious, self-glorifying, sellout that takes itself more seriously than the audience.

I can assure you that I don’t know anything about game design. I have hardly designed and developed 2–3 game projects since my introduction to this field of study.

A still from my first independently developed project on UE4

And to change that, I have decided to document my journey here in this blog. Every senior that excels in some department of design has told me that it is very important to document your projects. Because in the end you don’t benefit from the product of the effort, it’s the journey that does.

Apart from that, my use of the word ‘important’ in the above paragraph reminds me of this quote,

Don’t use the word ‘important’ unless you are sure that the receiver has the same purpose as yours

There haven’t been a lot of people in my college that specifically studied game design. But I suspect the advice ‘to document stuff’ applies to each and every field of study and more so to design related topics.

Thus my impression of the readers of this blog is along the lines of someone that is trying to look into how game design looks like from the eyes of a newcomer. And how this newcomer comes across different thoughts and ideas related to his field as he discovers complex design choices and statements in games that he love.

Concluding, this blog should be able to capture the evolution of my design instincts, and hopefully enable myself to appreciate all the clockwork that goes into making a successful video game.

--

--

Twarit Waikar
The Virtual Diary

Learning programmer, game engineer, and game designer. Find me by @IronicallySerious online