Rise Above It

Why it is so important and why you must.

Randy Mankoto
The Virtuous Man
3 min readMar 22, 2023

--

After an eventful day at work (almost losing my laptop), I decided to go home. I caught the bus from Feltham all the way to Richmond station in outer part of London. The bus took a U-turn and went into an unfamiliar bus stop. It stopped and stayed there for about 10 minutes.

The Bus driver and Passenger.

Five minutes after the bus driver had stopped, he got off and began speaking to one of the passengers on board. The conversation was profound to say the least; catching not only my attention but the man in front of me. The catalyst for this conversation was of course the economic crisis that you and I are currently experiencing. One comment that the bus driver made really struck me:

‘Things are getting hard, the rich are getting richer and the poor are getting poorer’. He even used his hands empathising his point with a light smile on his face. This further pushed the conversation into issues revolving around crime and capital punishment, which was brought up by the passenger.

“People would think twice about committing a crime”.

Hearing this was funny as he sounded half drunk. Throughout the whole interaction I noticed how the power of thoughts especially negative ones can have an impact on our language, perspective and even beliefs.

Be Different

In a world where negativity seems to seep in around every corner, stand out and be the light. Stay informed but don’t allow self-limiting beliefs and negativity invade your soul. Fight against it.

‘Hard times Create Strong men’

G. Michael Hopf

Learn a skill

Skills do not only pay the bills but they make you bulletproof while also pushing you into a league of your own. While everyone is singing woe is me, you are advancing and creating a 2.0 version of yourself that can stand up against any crisis or war that is being portrayed in the media.

Apply action

A skill without action is useless. It’s one thing to know something it’s an entirely other thing being in a dungeon and fighting a fire breathing dragon. Action will always lead to opportunity; opportunity will lead to growth.

Be Open to the Unknown.

If the last few years have taught us anything it’s that life is full of unknowns. Be open to it and learn, seek out opportunities that people close themselves off to. This will not only make you valuable in any market but will leave people astonished at how you’re able to keep going.

Closing note

Last Saturday I went to my local coffee shop to write this blog. I noticed that the price of the croissant had gone up to about £2.00. ‘Didn’t it used to be £1.80’ I exclaimed after making the purchase. The cashier replied.

‘Yeah everything is going up….sucks right.’ It does suck but whether It doubles in price or triples I’m still going to buy a croissant. Despite what is happening around me I will find a way. You should to.

If you liked this article, it would be really helpful if you could clap and follow me. I write about issues revolving around self-improvement.

--

--