A Journeyman on a Walkabout

The Walkabout’s origin story

Chris
The Walkabout
1 min readFeb 1, 2021

--

Hi Internet Brothers and Sisters,

I’m Chris, your editor, currently based in the Heartland U.S.A., and I’m writing to give you an idea of who I am and why I founded The Walkabout, a new Medium publication focusing on stories of transformation, healing, and renewal.

These are topics for which I have a personal connection, as I’ve been on a journey of healing and transformation ever since leaving my Midwestern hometown as a boy in 2000, returning 20 years later as a man with a wife and daughter.

My journey hasn’t been easy. I’ve had plenty of struggles: drug dependency, failed relationships, dead-end jobs, and severe depression and anxiety. But it was all part of the journey, and I wouldn’t take any of it back. Why? Because it’s gotten me to where I am now. I’m a stronger, more resilient person for having gone through some of the trials of the past 20 years.

And I know I’m not alone. Now I want to share my journey, and I want to read about your journey too. So please don’t be shy. We have much to learn from each other.

Welcome to the Walkabout.

--

--

Chris
The Walkabout

Writer exploring cross cultural love, indigenous wisdom, running, self-growth and the pursuit of big goals. Humor for good measure. Tips: Ko-fi.com/thewalkabout