The Kings of the Sea (food)

Galen Beckett
The Wanderers of Peru
3 min readDec 14, 2015

To be completely honest The place looks ASTOUNDING, when the sun is out. It makes you feel right off the coast of Paracas and nothing beats the warm summer air breezing by as you sip on an ice cold lemonade. The building has a nice oceany tone to it like it which will make you feel somewhere along the beaches of Huntington, California with a lovely white and blue finish. You pull into the driveway of the establishment and you’re welcomed by a very nice court yard on your right with cross hatched cobblestone bricks for the floor and trees for shade. In Front of you would be the entrance to the main building with a beautiful overhead and glass all across the right side overlooking the courtyard, like a big window. The logo of the company stands tall and proud on top of the building showing the world who exactly they are. So the place looks GREAT, but what about the people running the joint?

If I needed to sum up the staff in about one word it would be AMAZING. Once you get to know the people who are serving you and cooking you food they feel like family. They invite you into the restaurant with open arms and while you’re eating they are always making sure if you need anything or want something else. They are some of the best people you will ever meet. Everyone needs a friend right? I invite them to a drink after their shift you won’t regret it. Well they are right there. Go ahead and ask them how their day is. They are always open to a quick conversation or maybe a suggestion of what they would recommend. There is a friend in all of them. You might be asking yourself what recommendations are you talking about good sir? Well I was just getting to that.

The food is nothing short of EXQUISITE. Now before I get into the main dishes I want to tell you about their Entries. I’m telling you upfront you absolutely CANNOT go to this place without having either the Ceviche plate or Causa, or even both. The Causa i say is a must have. The creamy mashed potato, the juicy tuna, and salty avocado, and the sweet tangy mayonnaise go together like bacon, eggs, toast, and coffee on a perfect morning. The Ceviche plate is quite extravagant if I do say so myself. It has tangy Ceviche (of course), tender squid, sweet potatoes, corn I believe, and something that I don’t know the name of but It’s mouth watering. And those are only the entries. If you desire to quench your thirst with an ice cold lemonade, Chica Morada, or a Pisco Sour for our older audience then go right ahead, though mind the refills pal. On to the main course. They have a variety of fish and seafood based dishes like their Salmon or Ceviche. Personally I always go for the Ceviche Mixto con Aji y limon y un limonada fría. That for me is the dish to have. I’ll be honest I haven’t tried many other dishes I have yet to do that but I doubt it’s anything less than mouth watering. If you wish to try something else that they have go right on ahead.

To top it all off I’d say It’s a 4.7.It’s more of a summer activity as cold and cloudy do take away from the feel of the atmosphere. The place not only looks great but the staff are amazing people who make great food. Make sure to go on a sunny afternoon and try all the food you want there. I doubt you’ll want to go anywhere else after.

--

--