A medley of flavors

Patrick Foh Jr
The Watering Hole
Published in
3 min readJan 13, 2020

It’s about 10 pm on New Year’s eve and I had just got done with some work (some of us work during holidays), so open up a bottle of wine to celebrate while trying to find something to watch on Netflix. It’s safe to say that plan didn’t pan out, I fell asleep a little after.

Ring! Ring! Ring! my phone goes off at 2 am and I ignore the first time, it was a number I did not have saved to my contacts. Then it goes off the second time, and I’m wondering “who the hell disturbs my slumber”, I grudgingly pick up the phone and the person goes “guess who this is”.

The entire time I wonder “am I a joke to this individual”, asking me to guess who he is at 2 am, luckily for him he finally says something sensible; “Happy New Year, Mr. Foh” and tells me who is. Turns out the person was a classmate from University that I had spoken to since we left school. We had a quick chat, I responded to New Year messages and went back to bed.

Fast forward to New Year’s day, my friend calls me in the morning and after some of our usual banter, we decided to go out for lunch to bring in the New Year. It took a while deciding where to go, but we settled on Eric Kayser because we had never been there.

Less than 10 minutes after arriving at Eric Kayser, my friend makes a comment on the place that makes me laugh; he says “this place feels too much like a breakfast spot”. Thanks to his assertion, we decided not to eat there anymore, we settled for just having drinks and then going somewhere else to eat.

The Cocktail

After going over the cocktail section of the menu a couple of times, I settled on the London Mule.

It took almost 10 minutes for the waiter to bring me the drink, granted the place was quite busy that day being New Year’s Day.

The London Mule has a slightly peachy color to it, I suspect a lot of that color comes from the Angostura bitters in it.

Impressions

The London Mule is a medley of flavors, you get; gin, lime, ginger, soda, angostura bitters all coming together to give your palette a party.

On the first sip, it gives off a herbal feel which is thanks to the Angostura bitters and then you get a slight kick in the after taste owing to the ginger and lime and some sweetness courtesy of the soda.

Cost

The London Mule costs NGN 3000.00 at the time of publication of this post.

Verdict

🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸

The London Mule is definitely a cocktail you want to be drinking at a party or night out with friends or on a date with the potential love of your life. It provides an opportunity to have a bit of everything; sweet, sour, and something in-between.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to try a new cocktail.

The Watering Hole Rating System

🍸Don’t do it, bro.

🍸🍸Meh! Wouldn’t be my first choice.

🍸🍸🍸You go dey alright las las.

🍸🍸🍸🍸 Weh done sir, you sabi work.

🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸 Tuale baba, after you, na you.

Adios!!, till we drink again.

--

--