A weekend for catharsis

Patrick Foh Jr
The Watering Hole
Published in
3 min readDec 8, 2019

Catharsis

the process of releasing, and thereby providing relief from, strong or repressed emotions.

Most weekends my goal is primarily to find some sort of relief, relief from the trials and tribulations of being a Nigerian adult living in Lagos. Most weekends I find it, others not so much.

This past weekend was one of those ones where I found relief; Saturday morning and I’m up pretty early by most people’s Saturday morning standards (8 am). I had to be, I was going out with a friend to prospect some real-estate.

(PS: Before someone assumes me and friend have money, we just went to look)

For the most part of the week, we had been talking about ownership and legacy so it made sense that we were going to spend Saturday morning looking at real-estate; an age-old embodiment of ownership and legacy.

By the time we are done a bit late in the afternoon, I had become a mixed bag of emotions; frustrated at the lack of creativity and common sense in Nigerian home design, angry at the outrageous cost of some of the houses we saw, and generally anxious about future, needless to say I needed to sort out my head.

Fast forward to around 9 pm, the AJ v Ruiz rematch fight is about to start and I'm looking for where to watch it because surprise surprise DSTV isn’t showing it.

I go pick up my friend and we end up driving to a couple of places trying to watch the match without much luck. We end up at a lounge/bar in Victoria Island called The Artisan and unfortunately, they are not showing the fight either. We decide to just stay at this bar and get drinks since the fight was already over and as expected AJ won whoop whoop!!!.

The Cocktail

After a quick scan of the cocktail menu, I settle on a Black Russian, mostly because I really just wanted something simple and effective.

It took less than 5 minutes for the bartender to prepare the cocktail and I was greeted with an almost cola looking drink.

The Black Russian is a very simple cocktail in the sense of how a Jack and Coke cocktail is simple. Like the Jack and Coke, the Black Russian has only two components; Vodka and Coffee Liqueur.

Impressions

The Black Russian is a very straight forward and practical cocktail, it doesn’t try to impress you, it’s just upfront about its intentions of wanting you to have a good time.

Cost

The Black Russian costs NGN 3000.00 at the time of publication of this post.

Verdict

🍸🍸🍸🍸

The Black Russian is going to become one of my go-to cocktails on a night out most because it’s not overly aggressive and I can see most people knocking back a couple and still be highly functional as opposed to some rather adventurous cocktails I’ve had.

At the end of the day, The Black Russian did give me the catharsis I needed.

The Watering Hole Rating System

🍸Don’t do it, bro.

🍸🍸Meh! Wouldn’t be my first choice.

🍸🍸🍸You go dey alright las las.

🍸🍸🍸🍸 Weh done sir, you sabi work.

🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸 Tuale baba, after you, na you.

Adios!!, till we drink again.

--

--