Double wahala; Rocks and Ogogoro

Patrick Foh Jr
The Watering Hole
Published in
4 min readFeb 3, 2020

First of I want to start by saying; when I go out with any of my friends on Friday night, Ogogoro would be the last thing on anyone’s mind to drink.

Ogogoro is a West African alcoholic drink, usually distilled locally from fermented Raffia palm tree juice and is most popular in Nigeria, where it is known as the country’s homebrew. It is a distilled spirit originating from the oil or raffia palm tree (Source; Wikipedia).

It’s about 4 pm on Friday, my friend texts me about plans for the night and we agree to checkout Danfo Bistro (known for their expensive Ewa Agoyin) later that evening, they were having a party to celebrate their first anniversary.

Fast forward to about 7:30 pm, I hail an Uber and go him pick up. For most of the ride, we discussed the general anyhowness of Nigeria especially with the “Okada Ban” in Lagos. Somewhere in the middle of the discussion, the driver goes “excuse me, sirs; can I stop by the fuel station to buy bread“

Yup!! The Uber driver asked for permission to buy a loaf of bread in the middle of a trip (we declined). Just when you think you have experienced all the brands of Nigerian anyhowness in Lagos, somebody comes along to up the ante.

We finally got to the venue sometime past 9 pm and proceeded to case the place for where to get a drink as the main Danfo Bistro space was only for VIP ticket holders. We found a bar stand in the parking lot, but we had to get vouchers first before we could order drinks.

From a quick scan of the menu at the bar and bartender’s general demeanor when we asked him to recommend a cocktail, I could tell we were in for an interesting evening.

Look at that lineup

The “E Strong O” immediately caught my eye, I mean the name implied a challenge in my mind and I had to step up to the plate. My friend, on the other hand, got the “Go slow”

Round 1

Unfortunately, I couldn’t take a picture of the “E Strong O” because it was served in a red plastic cup instead of a glass cup.

The constituents

The “E Strong O” contained;

  • Triple sec,
  • Gin,
  • Syrup,
  • Lime juice,
  • and the coup de grace; Ogogoro AKA Sapele water AKA Kai-Kai Aka Akpeteshie,

strong lineup right!.

Impressions

If you have read any of my previous reviews, you know I am big on the first sip impressions a cocktail gives me. The “E Strong O” did not give me a strong first sip impression, it was sweet and lacking the punch I thought it would have given its name.

However, as I continued to drink and vibe with the rock music I started to feel the main ingredient; the Ogogoro. It then dawned on me that this was a sleeper cocktail and a good one at that.

Cost

The “E Strong O” costs NGN 2000.00 at the time of publication of this post.

Round 2

About an hour after our first round of cocktails, we head to the bar again for seconds. This time we both ordered the “Na wah ooo”.

The constituents

The “Na wah ooo” contained;

  • Jack Daniels,
  • Ogogoro,
  • Orange Juice,
  • Rum,

another solid lineup.

Impressions

This one didn’t pull any punches, from the first sip I knew I was in trouble. After my first sip, I looked up to gauge my friend’s reaction and his laugh confirmed what I was thinking. Halfway through the cup enjoyment set in, I was dancing more than usual, smiling, almost fell over at some point.

At this point, I felt like they misnamed the cocktails. The “E Strong o” should have been called “Na wah ooo” and vice versa because that thing was strong!!.

Cost

The “Na wah ooo” costs NGN 3000.00 at the time of publication of this post.

Verdict

Each cocktail provided a unique experience in taste and texture and gave very distinct feelings and I enjoyed every moment of it.

However, if your alcohol tolerance is low, I would not recommend you start your evening with any of them or even attempt to have the two of them. Most importantly don’t even think about driving or anything that require concentration after knocking back a serving of the “Na wah oo”

The “E Strong o” gets 🍸🍸🍸 because it turned out to be a decent sleeper cocktail.

The “Na wah ooo” gets 🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸 because that concoction will hit you hard, no gimmicks, just straight-up action.

The Watering Hole Rating System

🍸Don’t do it, bro.

🍸🍸Meh! Wouldn’t be my first choice.

🍸🍸🍸You go dey alright las las.

🍸🍸🍸🍸 Weh done sir, you sabi work.

🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸 Tuale baba, after you, na you.

Adios!!, till we drink again.

--

--