Met a Motherfucker on a Saturday Evening

Patrick Foh Jr
The Watering Hole
Published in
3 min readJan 11, 2019

It’s a hot Saturday evening in January 2019, I had just come out of a rather productive meeting and I had my friend with me. She had her flight canceled earlier in the day with no explanation from the airline (Typical Arik style), so I was trying to cheer her up so I decided to not hurry back to home.

On the drive back from the meeting venue, we spot Farm City and pull in. We get in and quickly scope out a seat near the water because the breeze was important given current weather conditions (it was between 32 – 34 Degrees Celsius, the A.C in the car was struggling to keep up).

A waiter brings the drinks menu a minute later (an improvement as Farm city is notorious for poor service) and we scan the menu for 5 minutes figuring out what drinks to get.

My friend orders a Mojito and I am still trying to decide whether to get Budweiser or a cocktail like she did. I go over the cocktail menu one last time and boom!! almost like an epiphany, I spot “The Motherfucker”.

I order “The Motherfucker” out of pure curiosity. 20 minutes later the drinks come through.

The Motherfucker

Impressions

It comes in a very nice teal color and like the name, the Motherfucker packs a proper punch, from the first sip I could taste the Vodka in it. I wasn’t sure what else they had in it.

Couple more sips and I knew drinking more than one of these before driving would be a bad idea.

The Motherfucker felt like getting hit with a bunch emotions all at once. It’s sweet, sour, and has a proper kick to it.

Post-Mortem

After a quick google search I found out the proper name for the cocktail is “Adios Motherfucker”, translation; “Goodbye Motherfucker”. That's a rather apt name if you ask me.

The Motherfucker is;

20 ml gin,
20 ml tequila,
20 ml vodka,
20 ml light rum,
20 ml blue curacao,
20 ml fresh lemon juice,
50 ml sprite.

Source:https://www.scienceofdrink.com/category/mxmonday/langswitch_lang/en/page/6/

From the recipe, you can see why this cocktail earns its name.

Cost

The Motherfucker costs NGN 2000.00 at the time of publication of this post.

Verdict

🍸🍸🍸🍸

The Motherfucker gets a 4 🍸Watering Hole rating because more than one Motherfucker might end your evening before it gets started if you have a low alcohol threshold.

The Watering Hole Rating System

🍸Don’t do it, bro.

🍸🍸Meh! Wouldn’t be my first choice.

🍸🍸🍸You go dey alright las las.

🍸🍸🍸🍸 Weh done sir, you sabi work.

🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸 Tuale baba, after you, na you.

PS: I am not a cocktail guy, but this cocktail has inspired me to start this Medium publication about finding the best cocktails in Lagos. This post will be the first of hopefully many cocktail adventures.

--

--