The Way of Capital

Aaron Meyer
The Way of Capital
Published in
3 min readFeb 25, 2024

Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to read. This is a new journal of sorts focused on finance and investing, particularly cryptocurrency, but with an all-encompassing view. Everything in the universe is connected, and that mindset and outlook should be extended, even to seemingly incongruous areas.

Image generated at www.img2go.com

I’ve been involved with cryptocurrency and stocks since 2017, getting my first Bitcoin on the way up to $20K the first time. I bought in heavier and promptly suffered loss after loss, paying for my lessons. Thankfully, I was level-headed enough to keep some in reserve and be able to continue through that bear run.

Besides, I had Ethereum to get into, the different BTC forks, then EOS, and TRON after that. I started exploring the world of altcoins and dapps, learning those pros and cons. Learning the jargon and lingo, experiencing rug-pulls and pump-and-dumps, and all the highs and lows the crypto market offered up over those years.

The decentralized nature of cryptocurrency is what drew me to it. I salute the early miners who maintained a cohesive, worldwide network when the reward was a pittance and folks marveled that Bitcoin got exchanged for a pizza. They paved the way and it’s now more mainstream than ever.

Investing in cryptocurrency can be a complicated process. It’s easier than ever to buy and hold Bitcoin and other major cryptos, but further on down the food chain, it can be hard to know what coins to buy, when to buy them, when to sell them. Plenty of influencers are willing to “help,” but it can be tricky deciding who to follow.

A few years ago, Enzyme launched cryptocurrency funds that anyone can invest in, and I started one of my own in October of 2022 on the Polygon network. Since then, I’ve built up a small basket of cryptos, concentrating on BTC and Ethereum before branching out to more altcoins. The fund’s holdings and performance are visible on the Enzyme app and investors can deposit USDC (or MATIC) through a wallet like Metamask. In return, an equivalent amount of WUWEI shares get transferred based on the current share price. After a one day holding period, those shares can be redeemed at any time.

Since inception, the share price has grown from $1.00 to $1.82 at time of writing. The fund, nicknamed The Way, presents a simple way to invest in a group of cryptos like you would a stock ETF. I’ve also got plans beyond the fund to reward shareholders and hopefully open up other opportunities.

One month performance of The Way as of 2/24/24

Despite some heartache and heartbreak, cryptocurrency has been a mostly uplifting experience, and the goal is to extend that opportunity to others. Some of the best times I’ve had in recent years have been mingling with fellow enthusiasts and sharing successes, or commiserating bad choices. I hope to see the rising tide of a new crypto bull run lift more and more boats this time around.

I look forward to sharing more about my philosophy when it comes to both investing and trading. The Way is built more for investment long-term, to buy, hold, and minimize the risk to investor money. Trading involves risk, and I’d rather assume that myself than expose the fund to wild price swings. Check it out: The Way. And follow me on X.

Excelsior!

--

--

Aaron Meyer
The Way of Capital

Worker in NE Wisconsin. Disc golfer, cryptocurrency enthusiast, and general misfit.