What is Shambhala Warriorship?

John Fitch
The Way of The Warrior
4 min readNov 20, 2015

--

I have recently had people ask me to clarify the “warrior” training I often speak of. I am thankful for their questions because it reminds me the importance of context. With context, we can better understand where someone is coming from and trying to go.

Some may be confused of my definition because they observe me staying physically fit through participating in the martial arts. When I speak to my mother about my “warrior training”, she assumes it is me getting punched in the face! This type of physical training could easily be associated with “becoming a warrior”, but I attribute my training’s definition more to the mental and spiritual. If you research ancient forms of martial arts, you will find the spiritual/mental training was paramount — the body was secondary. I seek the same approach with my ongoing practice.

Although I will continue to invest in my body’s flexibility, strength, and stamina, I know that training my heart and mind will lead to a greater impact on society. I hope that we all find practices that keep our physical and spiritual states synchronized.

Let’s return back to this publication’s definition of “warrior”…

This reflection will be on the fundamental understanding of Shambhala Warriorship.

Today’s Warrior Reflection:

“The Shambhala teachings are founded on the premise that there is basic human wisdom that can help to solve the world’s problems. This wisdom does not belong to any one culture or religion, nor does it come only from the West or the East. Rather, it is a tradition of human warriorship that has existed in many cultures at many times throughout history.”

Excerpt From: Chögyam Trungpa. “Shambhala.”

You may believe a warrior is someone fighting a disease, competing in athletics, climbing a mountain, or sailing the open seas. In regards to this ongoing publication, all of the people above could be a warrior. We all have the potential.

Warriorship here does not refer to bringing war to others. Aggression and violence is the source of our problems, not the solution. Here the word warrior is taken from the Tibetan people and literally means “one who is brave.” Warriorship in this context is the tradition of human bravery, a tradition of fearlessness with helping others .

The North and South American Indian cultures had such traditions and approaches. King Arthur is a legendary example of Western tradition, and prominent characters in the Bible are examples of warriors common to many. The Japanese ideal of the samurai also represented a warrior tradition of wisdom and teaching.

We all look up to certain figures in history and aspire being as valiant and brave as them. I have admired the stoics and yogis who drafted ideas in many of my library’s books. At times I feel as if they were different from the rest of society — they were placed here by some divine entrepreneur.

We need to realize that we can be even more brave than those figures we have read about. They were created just as we were, and the difference is they decided to contribute to the betterment of all.

We must try to think beyond our comfortable homes, beyond taking care of our children or doing a good job at work. We must try to think how we can help this world. If we don’t help, nobody will. It is our turn to help the world.

At the same time, helping others does not mean abandoning our individual lives. You don’t have to rush out to become the mayor of your city or the president of the United States in order to help others, but you can begin with your relatives and friends and the people around you. In fact, you can start with yourself. The important point is to realize that you are never off duty. You can never just relax, because the whole world needs help.

Excerpt From: Chögyam Trungpa. “Shambhala.”

I want to present the principles of Shambhala warriorship in order to show how we can conduct our lives as warriors with fearlessness and rejoicing, without destroying one another. We should try to attribute success not to how much we conquered, but how much we helped.

If you were hoping for this publication to be focused on how to prepare for war, you may be disappointed. I am sure there are many resources and texts on that topic, but I offer you a home here to reconsider the duty of a warrior.

--

--

John Fitch
The Way of The Warrior

Author of the #1 Amazon bestseller Time Off. Let’s be calm together.