Meet the new co-host of AMHQ Weekend

The Weather Channel
The Weather Channel
3 min readJan 20, 2016
Kelly Cass, co-host of AMHQ Weekend

Get to know Kelly Cass!

What’s your hometown?

Poughkeepsie, New York

What’s your favorite season?

It’s hard for me to pick a favorite season, I really enjoy them all. I guess Spring is what I really look forward to. It’s a time of rebirth, regrowth and beauty with the colorful flowers and trees!

What’s your favorite weather memory?

My favorite weather memory is growing up in New York, enjoying snow days with my brother and sisters. We would build a huge snow fort with lots of tunnels and have snowball fights with the other kids in the neighborhood.

What sparked your passion for weather?

My passion for weather was sparked when I was about 4 years old. We had a bad thunderstorm with loud thunder and big hail. My mom would tell me it was the angels moving around the furniture up in Heaven! But I always wanted to know the actual cause of storms, and more importantly, how to predict them.

What was the most significant weather event you’ve covered?

I’ve covered so many hurricanes and winter storms while at The Weather Channel. Before I even came to the network, I covered the Blizzard of ’93, both in studio and out in the blinding snow in Schenectady, NY. We had over 2 feet of snow, shutting down the thruway, and ended up spending the entire weekend at the station.

What would people be surprised to know about you?

Probably that I was very shy growing up. I was a tomboy, playing lots of sports, but otherwise not very outgoing. Friends from high school still can’t believe I do what I do on TV! I guess you could say I came out of my shell!

What’s one weather myth that every time you hear it you have to correct?

When I hear people talk about “heat” lightning, I can’t help but want to correct them that there’s no such thing! Sometimes, on a warm summer night, you can see the lightning flashing in the distance, and not hear the thunder because it’s just too far away.

What is your most memorable/funniest on-camera moment?

One time as I was at the key wall doing the weather, a fly went right in my mouth! I actually gagged on it…the anchor came over waving a fly swatter at me! I was embarrassed, but had to laugh too!

AMHQ Weekend airs Saturday and Sunday from 5–9 a.m. ET on The Weather Channel.

--

--

The Weather Channel
The Weather Channel

Daily weather news, tidbits, video and alerts from The Weather Channel. #ItsAmazingOutThere