We Used To…

Poem About Love and Reminiscence

ELUDINI-OLUFEMI ZION
The Writer’s Paradise
2 min readMar 5, 2020

--

Source: Unsplash

• We used to know each other
Now we’re two estranged strangers
• We used to be close
Now we have knives up our throats.
• We were once like clones
Now we are as different as a cube and a cone
• We used to be besties
Now we’re only a little different from enemies
• We even looked forward to our wedding
But now, we act like we never even thought it
• Oh! we also talked about having kids
But now that we’re done, it’s just a lonely dream
• We used to talk late into the night
But now it’s down to a few words, between you and I
• We had plans to see some movies
But now that they’re out, we’ll be watching from different seats
• We planned to have crazy fun
Now all we have is hate and bitter scorn
• We said we’d stay together
But now we’re done, and done forever
• We said we’d make each other happier
But a few months after, we’ve become much sadder.

• You used to say I changed
But you weren’t even referring to age
• You used to say it again and again
But I didn’t like the vibe that it gave
• We’d even go back and forth all day
Still it was tension and strife all the same
• You should have left long ago
But that would have left me out in the cold
• So you stayed behind cos I held your hand
But we both knew it was a matter of time
• Go to hell! Get out of here!
We would fight, then trade our words for tears
• Yes we fought for us right to the end
But finally, our love ran out of air.

Then I thought; was it still love when it began to hurt, and was it worth it, staying in the fight that long?
Well, I don’t know – you tell me.

--

--

ELUDINI-OLUFEMI ZION
The Writer’s Paradise

I'm Zion, a tech writer and enthusiast passionate about exploring the intersection of technology and society. Join me on a journey of innovation and discovery!