My Guilty Dis-pleasures

Alex Falcone
The Weekly Weep
Published in
2 min readMay 26, 2017

I still contend that “guilty pleasures” are almost always fake. It’s just a cooler way of saying, “Thing I like but know is bad.”

Dis-pleasures, on the other hand, are genuinely guilty. It takes bravery to admit you don’t like things with universal acclaim. But since I’m very brave (except about spiders and phone calls and any kind of confrontation), here are a few things I feel genuinely guilty for not liking.

Wall-E

I think it’s probably actually great, but it really hit me wrong when I watched it. It’s so preachy and fat-shamey in a way that can’t be fixed by two cute robots tryna fuck.

Nirvana

The state of mind OR the band. Always found it a bit grating, though on more than one occasion I’ve nodded along like, “Yeah, me too guys. I also feel this way.”

The Coliseum

  1. No lions
  2. All the tourists
  3. Lemonade cost like $15

Hamilton

This is a little bit cheating because I haven’t seen it, but most of the people I know who lost their shit listening to it never saw it either, and I couldn’t get through it without cringing myself to death. It feels like an improvised rap game from Whose Line Is It Anyway that never stops.

Again, I’m not proud of these opinions. Please don’t @ me about them because I was being brave sharing them with you.

--

--

Alex Falcone
The Weekly Weep

Comedian. Podcaster. Author of a novel about a mummy that Publisher’s Weekly called “Unfortunate.” linktr.ee/alexfalcone