Why Is Society Telling Me I Need To Be Fuckable Until I’m 100?

This is getting way out of hand. So I’m supposed to have sex appeal until when? Into the afterlife? Give me a break.

Jenny Lane
The Weight of Desire

--

“The Ancient Tree” Photo and Artwork created by © Jenny Lane and Aiartist

Seriously, really?

Am I really supposed to be fuckable until I’m one hundred years old? I am exhausted by what I am being sold here.

Why can’t I be a beautiful ancient tree?

Why can’t I be lined art?

Why can’t I have a long white mane?

Why can’t I see my grey hairs as wisdom strands?

Why can’t my smile lines show you I’ve smiled?

“Ancient Beauty” Photo and Artwork created by © Jenny Lane and Aiartist

Why must I look like some immortal 25 year old in a 100 year old self?

Please someone tell me why we as women must be “young” forever.

Men “age well.”

Yeah, you know why they age well? Because they aren’t sold to be fuckable like we are. Well, to a certain degree yes, but not like how women are in advertising or tv. Dad bod is an actual term. We don’t say, “Oh, that actress she’s stunning with her Mom…

--

--

Jenny Lane
The Weight of Desire

An overthinking human who writes to make room in her mind and peace in our hearts. Art and words are my love letters to the world.