My favorite Wework locations

Nomad Remy
The Weworker
Published in
6 min readApr 10, 2020

Over the past two years I have been a member of Wework, an international coworking chain. As a nomad software engineer, my travel plans, work and social life have become grown a dependency towards Wework and many of their locations across the globe.

I first joined Wework as regular member in a fixed location (London and then moved my activity to Paris) and since summer 2019 I decided to become a Global Access Member.

Even though I have a base in Paris, I consider myself to be a Nomad. I travel very often and I don’t like to stay in the same place for very long. Being a software engineer, I feel lucky that I can bring my work with me around the world, as long as I have an internet connection.

As I said previously, I tend to merge work and travel as much as I can. To this day I have visited and worked while traveling to more than 25 countries. I usually choose my destinations depending on what Wework locations are available in the area. Working in other coworking areas and cafés is an option, although I prefer the luxury of a Wework desk, Wework coffee and stunning Wework views.

I also collect Wework’s famous stickers. Currently, I have 13 different stickers from their City collection. When I arrive at a new Wework city, one of the first things that I ask for is a shiny new sticker for my MacBook. There is nothing more satisfying than adding a new location to my Wework passport (which is my mac in this case).

Here is the current situation on the back of my macbook. (luckily it is a 15 inch so I still have some room left)

While I travel, I like to socialize with the local Wework members and get to know the staff that works there. Usually. when I share a beer with local Wework members, this is the question that often comes up :

Having visited so many Weworks around the world, what is your favorite location/city ?

To this question, I usually answer, it really depends on my mood, and what I am looking for. I have a favorite Wework for views, beer selection, coffee selection, chairs, tranquility, social life, showing off to clients, etc…

This question got me thinking, and so I have come up with my Top 3 Wework Locations (for the moment…). I will try in my personal ranking to highlight the greatest things about each location and give you a taste of what you could expect.

1. 92 Ave des Champs Elysees (Paris)

Arc de Triomphe : No filter ! The shot on the left was taken in September, best time of the year for colorful skies.

This location is truely spectacular. If you want to get a real Parisian feeling, this is the place to come to. It is a prime location, this famous avenue is notorious to be extremely expensive and premium, the ability to climb up to the 4th floor and have a beer with this view is truely a blessing. The interior does not displease with premium chairs, high quality decor and colorful design. There is a ping pong table on the first and third floor as well as beer on the fourth.

Colorful interior on the 2nd floor

2. 600 California St (San Francisco)

Terrasse on 7th floor of 600 California Street

I took a trip to the bay area last November and decided to try every single Wework location there. This location stood out to me as one of the more premium locations. The space for hot desks is pretty limited, however that did not bother me during my stay. The most remarkable trait at this location is the terrasse on the 7th floor. The space outside is larger than the space inside. There is a clear view on many landmarks of San Francisco including the Transamerica building and the bay.

There is one beer output, however the beer selection was not the best in my opinion. There is also a ping pong table, although the space was limited to about 3ft on either side of the table.

3. 4 rue Jules Lefebvre (Paris)

Reception Area Downstairs

This location is truly one of my favorites, it is also one of the largest Wework locations I have been to. This Wework occupies the whole street of rue Jules Lefebvre in the 9th arrondissement. It’s location is easy to get to and is not too far from restaurants and bars. The closest station is St Lazare and it is quite easy to pop into a TGV (train) to go somewhere for the weekend.

The building has 6 floors and a basement with more than 20 meeting rooms. The upper floors (1–6) are reserved for start-ups and businesses, however the ground floor and basement can be used as a hot desk. At this wework there is a barista serving your favorite coffee from 10AM to 4PM. The ground floor also has 4 beer dispensers and a pool table. There are many places to sit and relax while reading a book or hanging out with colleagues.

What really stands out at this location is it’s stunning architecture. The hallways are long, tall and have marble floors. Stone columns ornement the first and second floor with original double doors. Marble columns greet you at the entrance, it is truly a wonderful experience.

The hallway on the first floor is a wonderful demonstration of Haussmannian architecture

Another big amenity at this Wework location is its rooftop. This is the first rooftop I have seen at a Wework where there is a 360º view. The view is truly spectacular, and you can see many Parisian landmarks from the 7th floor : The Eiffel Tower, Mont Martre, Montparnasse, l’Opéra, the Pantheon etc…

Stunning views from the terrace

These Wework locations are my 3 favorite so far. I am very lucky to be based in Paris at the moment, therefore it is likely you can find me in one of the two Parisian locations. If you have a Global Access Membership and are a remote freelancer / digital nomad or you work in a Parisian Wework, do not hesitate to comment or send me a message via the Wework network. We can meet up and discuss experiences !

If you enjoy insider reviews of Wework locations around the world don’t forget to clap. I will be reviewing more locations in the future.

--

--

Nomad Remy
The Weworker

Software Engineer 💻 at Apple 🍎 in Paris 🇫🇷. Wework Enthusiast