Bulleit, My First Bourbon Crush

Nathan J Bonassin
The Whiskey Tapes
Published in
2 min readJul 27, 2019

--

Like most American boys, my first whiskey experience was with Jack Daniels and Jim Beam. But then weekend in college, visiting my brother in Austin, TX, he introduced me to Bulleit Bourbon. Bulleit was different, Bulleit was good. Back in those days, it was primarily a mixer. Bourbon and ginger ale, a drink we dubbed “The Bonassin.” My whiskey tastes have matured since those days, and I like my whiskey neat or on the rocks. The Bulleit family of whiskeys is still one of my favorites, and is always restocked on the shelf. It only seems fitting to feature Bulleit Bourbon as my first whiskey review.

About the Whiskey:

Bulleit Bourbon is bottled at 45% ABV Bourbon. It is distilled at the Four Roses Distillery in Lawrenceburg, KY for the Diageo Company. The mash bill is noted for its high rye content, at almost 28% of the mash bill. It is barrel aged for at least 6 years.

Appearance:

Bulleit Bourbon is amber in color.

Nose:

Bulleit Bourbon has aromas of oak and sweet vanilla

Taste:

I really like the flavor profile of this bourbon. Bulleit Bourbon has sweet and vanilla flavors and notes of spice.

Overall:

On the finish, Bulleit Bourbon gives a big flavor splash of vanilla and some maple. The spice is elevated just before the finish, giving off a flavor of almost pepper!

Slainte!

Originally published at http://www.whiskeytapes.com.

--

--