Letter to the editor: Williamstown mother grateful for full-service gas stations

Writer: ‘Don’t ever do away with full service stations, every mother is grateful for them.’

Caytlinn Batal
The Williamstown Sun
2 min readJan 17, 2018

--

I would like to chime in on your opinion article about allowing self-service gas. I am of the opinion the full-service gas station in New Jersey is the best thing for mothers.

When I had my first child I was living in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., where there were self-serve gas stations only. Anytime I needed to get gas I had to try to time it when I would not have my child with me because it would mean I would have to get out of the car and leave my child unattended while I went into the store and paid for the gas before I pumped it. If I had my child with me, I would not be able to get out of the car like that to pay and pump the gas.

Moving to New Jersey, I then had two more children and was so grateful for the full service gas stations where I could stay in my car with my children and have the attendant fill my car and pay for it while I was still seated in the driver’s seat. The hassles this eliminated were tremendous! So, don’t ever do away with full service stations, every mother is grateful for them.

Ginny Wallace

--

--

Caytlinn Batal
The Williamstown Sun

Editor for The Washington Township Sun and The Mullica Hill Sun