GRIEF | THE WIND PHONE

I Had a Honeymoon Puppy, and I Wouldn’t Change a Thing

An ode to Jude, the best dog there ever was

Kandis Lake
The Wind Phone
Published in
10 min readJul 25, 2023

--

Me with my honeymoon baby, a Border-Aussie we named Jude. Photo is mine.

“Take a sad song and make it better”

I recently had to say goodbye to my beloved pup — our family dog and true friend. Although I knew without a doubt that it was his time to go, I don’t have it in me to write about that day. It was so hard. But I wanted to share some of the things I absolutely loved about our guy.

Our honeymoon baby

Puppy Jude. Photo is mine.

I got married at the (insanely young) age of twenty. My husband and I were really just kids and one thing we knew we wanted was our own dog. During our engagement, we often sent each other pictures of puppies.

After the wedding, we took our honeymoon in St. George, a city in our home state of Utah, only a 4 1/2 hour drive away from home. Nearing the end of our vacation, my husband started looking at online classified advertisements of dogs in the area. He found one for Border Collie/Australian Shepherd mixes and talked me into going to see them.

--

--

Kandis Lake
The Wind Phone

Glimpses of my mind & pieces of my heart. Health, parenting, travel, books, religion.