My Daily Dose of Grief Has Finally Faded Like the Evening Sun

A tribute to my late wife

Lee J. Bentch
The Wind Phone
Published in
3 min readJan 25, 2023

--

Photo by Ann on Unsplash

I have two cremation urns on my mantle. One is for my wife, the other for my oldest daughter.

Every day, multiple times, I see them. I feel their presence, reflect on the past and then channel my energy to a positive outlook.

As I think about my wife, we had a fulfilling life together. But long-term medical problems had the final say. One sad day in 2017, I exercised her wishes from a medical directive not to resuscitate her. Doctors had exhausted all means of recovery, as her organs were rapidly shutting down. While her passing was expected, it still hurt.

My daughter is a passing thought. Her demise was brought on in her mid-thirties. Hidden heart disease accelerated by a lifestyle beyond normal social realms contributed to her premature death. Her life ended with a catastrophic cardio event that even the best heart hospital in the country could not resolve.

It's been over five years since my wife died. The pain of loss has faded but not disappeared. I'm not sure I will ever forget our time together.

My wife was my longest friend. She and I spent more time together than I did with my parents. Our companionship lasted over forty-five years.

--

--

Lee J. Bentch
The Wind Phone

I am an author, a technology guy, a grandad, a widower, and a man with many interests. I write to inform and entertain. Email: lee@lbentch.com