THE BOZO BROTHERS BAND | THE WIND PHONE

The Notes Remaining

A difficult ‘goodbye’ to a beloved musical soul

Darrel Boyd
The Wind Phone
Published in
3 min readMay 2, 2024

--

Dandelion wishes dancing as notes in front of an image of Mike playing bass in a sunset.
Photo by Author | Adobe Stock

The ache of your passing vexes me.

I always thought you would outlive me
with your apparent fitness and love
for music, and the way you seemed to
find extensions in the notes you played.

But the sting of your passing feels wrong.

You were a natural in musical settings
with an ear that no mortal human
should have, but you loved to play
and you played with the likes of me.

But all that beats in my heart now is pain.

For we did not see life eye to eye and
the stress of religion and politics pulled
at our bond like a tick probing past
the common tissues we shared.

But here I am, second-guessing charts you didn’t need.

You made a bet with me about the afterlife
and I flippantly accepted that bet with
my own conceited sense of certainty while
other bandmates laughed and chatted.

--

--

Darrel Boyd
The Wind Phone

Just a forever fledgling writer trying to make sense of the world.