The Worst Things People Said to My Grieving Mom, and Try This Instead

Don’t talk. Just listen. Don’t change the subject.

Debra G. Harman, MEd.
The Wind Phone
Published in
4 min readDec 12, 2022

--

Photo of author.

When my only brother died, my mom unraveled. I watched her come apart. It didn’t take long. As if our loss wasn’t bad enough, some people said the worst things to Mom.

Dad was able to ignore the idiotic phrases. He was deep in his grief too, but Mom couldn’t help but react to the phrases people said to comfort her.

They were of no comfort. Not at all.

At least you have two daughters.

Be strong.

Hasn’t it been a year?

We should talk about something else now.

The very worst for my mom was this one — God won’t give you anything you can’t handle.

When Mom shared that someone had told her this, she became hysterical.

She absolutely could not handle losing my brother.

Mom’s grief was out of control. She was tangible proof that she was not handling my brother’s death.

Yes, she still had two daughters, but for about five years, she stopped being a mom. It was too painful. She up and quit.

--

--

Debra G. Harman, MEd.
The Wind Phone

Boost Nominator | Publisher | Writer | Editor --Welcome to my world! I came to Medium as a writer, and things got bigger fast. Parasol Publications.