THE WIND PHONE

Whatever I Should Say to a Traitor, Here It Is

I’ve been resolving this grief for a year

Sana Sparks
The Wind Phone
Published in
6 min readApr 10, 2024

--

The gruesome cover of the novel Pride and Prejudice and Zombies with the bones beneath a woman’s face showing. All clues to the story.
Photo by Loren Cutler on Unsplash

I never realized what was hiding beneath your surface. There were clues something was not right. But I always thought it was a certain awkwardness you would have at times. You would come off as if you were not really comfortable in your skin.

I nailed that more than I knew.

I loved you from the first time I saw you as a baby. I trusted you until the day I moved in with you, both of us getting into our senior years. Me, older than you, of course. The worst thing I could be. A senior who needed care.

We had seemed more in tune. But I didn’t realize how much that was due to you imitating me until I watched you imitate others you were talking to. How you would adjust your behavior to match who you were with. A mirror who could not stop mirroring.

Except when you couldn’t see what was in front of you. Including people. Too often, including me. I’m not talking in metaphors. I could stand a few feet in front of you in bright light. Again and again, you could not see me. Unless I said something.

I know other family members must have suspected this. No one has said a word to me. I wonder if they ever will. They have to be as…

--

--

Sana Sparks
The Wind Phone

An elder who creates magic, tells true stories, throws open the mind. understands dreams, sings wordless songs, and knows the gift of memory.