Rachel’s Recs: Napa Wine Tasting

Rachel Woods
The Wine Nerd
Published in
3 min readAug 16, 2019

As part of my wine tasting series, here I will share my Napa recommendations (continuously updated). Worth noting that when I go to Napa, my goal is to find casual, approachable, and enjoyable places that won’t break the bank. My list definitely reflects that! If you want a list of fancy, cult-wine following Napa destinations, look elsewhere :)

Here’s a link to my wine tasting Google maps (all regions) and check out my post on wine tasting trip tips.

Map of Napa Valley, from SevenFifty Daily

Rutherford Area

Grgich Hills Estate

A visit to Grgich is like visiting a piece of history. Mike Grgich (winemaker) is internationally recognized as being the winemaker of the famous winning Chateau Montelena chardonnay from the 1976 Paris blind tasting. They have an array of tasting and tour options ($20–90) and a beautiful yet approachable property. More about visiting.

Frog’s Leap Winery

Frog’s Leap may have a cute name, but their wines and tasting experience are even more charming. Their Vineyard House is modern and cozy, with a lovely seated garden space out back. Wines reflect classic Napa with one of the best Merlots I’ve ever had. Tastings start at $25 but I highly recommend the Signature Seated Tasting for $35. Appointments are required and you can easily book an appointment through Yelp. More about visiting.

Places I want to visit soon:

Stag’s Leap District Area

Stag’s Leap Wine Cellars

Stag’s Leap Wine Cellars is one of the most iconic Napa tasting experiences you can find, and for a reasonable price ($45). Their SLV and Faye vineyards are some of the most prestigious in the area, and their wines also made history with the 1976 Paris blind tasting. Their space is modern and upscale, and their wines are ones you’ll dream about. More about visiting.

Clos Du Val

Clos Du Val is an upscale, modern Napa winery that is a wonderful place for relaxation and enjoying your time in wine country. Their tasting is a seated restaurant-style with incredibly friendly and knowledgeable staff. Their Social Circle tasting is fun ($35), but what really impressed me at Clos Du Val is how great they are for groups wanting to do a private tasting ($45). They also have a picnic option for 2 that is one of the most romantic setups I’ve heard of ($125). More about visiting.

St. Helena Area

Places I want to visit soon:

  • Schramsberg: A bit of a splurge at $70, but I’ve heard their cave tour and sparkling wine is absolutely worth it.
  • Duckhorn: An iconic winery that has made such a large footprint on the commercial high-end wine world. Tastings are $40 and appointments required.
  • Stony Hill: Stunning and rare white wines in Napa Valley, tastings are $45 and require appointment.
  • Beringer: Great, widely distributed wines and casual tasting atmosphere, starting at $25 tastings.

--

--