9 Habits of Prolific Writers

Setting the expectation of writing productivity

Laura Winter
Author Bound

--

Photo by Robert Bye on Unsplash

As someone who writes every day, I still find myself baffled at how much people publish here and the endless supply of ideas they seem to have. For me, I typically write one article per day while the rest of my focus goes to producing fiction. Still, I have an expectation that when I write, I will be productive, which helps me build the habits of a prolific writer.

Clear priorities

Prolific writers have set their priorities and know where their focus needs to be. Some writers see that their time is best spent posting 2–3 articles on Medium every day. Others see that their return works best when they write fiction. Others just know they are happy when they write fanfiction or a personal project. Knowing where your focus should be based on your goals is how you can fuel your writing habit.

Clear intentions

Prolific writers are clear about their intentions. What is that goal they are searching for? As a full time writer, I discovered that while I love writing non-fiction and can more quickly produce words writing an article like this, my return happens when I write fiction. As an indie author, I have reached the point of producing enough books where I am looking to turn that into my biggest source…

--

--

Laura Winter
Author Bound

Creator. Writer. Author. Join my newsletter and get introduced to my fantasy worlds! sendfox.com/laurawinter