Habits to Build as a Fiction Writer

Using habits to learn and grow as a writer

Laura Winter
Author Bound

--

Photo by Fallon Michael on Unsplash

When I started writing, I used it as a way to document my minimalist journey. Read: I started a blog. It was rough at first, focused mostly on the step-by-step process, but I found that I could continually go back to that platform and test new ideas.

The more I grew there, the more I looked for ways to expand. Eventually, the next writing step was going to be writing a book.

I had no idea where to start or how to even write fiction but I was able to translate a lot of the non-fiction writing habits I had developed to fit into my new work as a fiction writer.

Here are some habits that you should build to help with your fiction writing.

Read (and write) in different genres

One thing I wish I had started sooner was reading in different genres. I stuck to the ones I was writing in and while it was helpful, I was missing out on a lot of really good lessons.

There are so many things you can learn from different genres. Though I personally write in the YA/Adult and fantasy genres, I’ve learned so much from the sci-fi, romance, and adventure novels that I’ve picked up throughout my time. Different genres bring different levels of description…

--

--

Laura Winter
Author Bound

Creator. Writer. Author. Join my newsletter and get introduced to my fantasy worlds! sendfox.com/laurawinter