A Rainbow on June 1

A perfect start to Pride Month 2023

--

photo taken by author through restaurant window

June dawned bright and hot, sunny and muggy. Then came the rain. Thunder, lightning, and pounding torrents.

I ran from the car to the restaurant, drops spotting my glasses.

Halfway through a meal of pasta and garlic bread with extended family, my sister-in-law pointed out the window. “Look!” she said.

A rainbow stretched across the sky outside. It could be seen through two windows, a full arch from horizon to horizon.

A rainbow on June 1. A perfect beginning to Pride Month 2023.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a Canadian queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--

Esther Spurrill-Jones
The Word Artist

Poet, lover, thinker, human. Poetry editor at Prism & Pen.