COVID Finally Got Me

Happy New Year to me?

Esther Spurrill-Jones
The Word Artist

--

After 3 years of dodging it, covid finally got me. A couple days before I was to return to work from Christmas holidays, I thought I had a sinus infection, a cold, maybe a flu. I work in health & wellness, so I decided I better take a rapid test before I went back to the office.

It was positive.

Last year, everyone I live with and hang out with regularly caught covid, and I somehow didn’t. I wondered if maybe I was immune.

Spoiler: I’m not.

A photo of a covid rapid test showing 2 lines, a positive result.
Photo by author

I got a relatively mild case: stuffed up sinuses, slight headache, coughing. I can still taste and smell. I’m lucky.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--

Esther Spurrill-Jones
The Word Artist

Poet, lover, thinker, human. Poetry editor at Prism & Pen.