Forever Young — a poem of beauty and aging

A Kyrielle inspired by Shakespeare’s Sonnet 63

Esther Spurrill-Jones
The Word Artist
Published in
2 min readSep 4, 2024

--

A daisy surrounded by dewy grass. Behind is all gold.
Image by Basil Smith from Pixabay

The golden rose will bloom each morn,
Gilt petals open, bright and warm,
And I rejoice for each day born.
My heart is green, forever young.

Although it is no longer Spring,
I still find reasons I should sing,
And I will rise on mighty wings:
My heart is green, forever young.

My beauty can’t be snatched away,
For it is not found on my face,
And when my hair is gone to grey,
My heart is green, forever young.

When dark and cold of Winter’s night
Turns all the green and gold to white,
I won’t lose faith; I wait for light.
My heart is green, forever young.

The golden rose will bloom each morn,
Gilt petals open, bright and warm,
And I rejoice for each day born.
My heart is green, forever young.

--

--

Esther Spurrill-Jones
The Word Artist

Poet, lover, thinker, human. Poetry editor at Prism & Pen.