Say My Name, Spell My Name

What’s in a name?

Esther Spurrill-Jones
The Word Artist
Published in
2 min readSep 29, 2020

--

Image source

If someone spells my given name correctly without me telling them how to spell it, I am always surprised. Even some of my in-laws can’t get it right and I’ve been part of their lives for more than ten years now.

It’s not like it’s even that difficult, honestly. It’s Esther. It’s not Ester, or Easter, or Hester. If you just slow down and pay attention while typing, you can get it right; I have faith in you. Sound it out: EST-HER.

I feel for everyone out there with truly difficult to spell names.

And then, there’s my birth surname Spurrill. I will admit this one is difficult to pronounce and to spell. It’s spelled like the two obscure English words “spur” and “rill” and it’s pronounced like “pearl” with an ‘s’ on the front.

My married name Jones is much easier.

Whenever I meet someone new, I always double check how to spell and pronounce their name correctly. Even if it’s something that seems simple. After all, if your name is Jayne, you probably are tired of people spelling it ‘Jane’ right?

I see it as an easy thing I can do to respect people. Just make an effort to get something so simple and basic and personal as their name correct. I know I appreciate it when someone does it for me.

And I feel disregarded when someone doesn’t bother to get my name right. It’s a bad feeling.

--

--

Esther Spurrill-Jones
The Word Artist

Poet, lover, thinker, human. Poetry editor at Prism & Pen.