HIGH QUALITY CREATIVITY, PART 1

How to Think Different: A New Perspective on Creativity

Practical lessons from movie posters you can apply to your writing

Lon Shapiro
The Inner Game of Writing
11 min readSep 14, 2019

--

Copyright images for Plan B Entertainment, Marvel Studios, SoapBox Films, 20th Century Fox, MGM, Why Not Productions

Look at the posters above and tell me what you see.

Is there something that connects them, or is this just a jumble of images?

Over 20 years ago, I started working for an award-winning designer who did all the A-list video covers for Disney, 20th Century Fox, Universal Home Video, and DreamWorks.

During the five years I worked there, I learned everything I know about design.

One of the funnier lessons happened one day as my boss was working out the cover art for a big video release. And he used the same principles used for posters.

It turned out to be the first of many eye-opening realizations I’ve had in my journey through the design world.

But before I open your eyes, I need you to close them.

CREATIVE EXERCISE #1: Squint your…

--

--

Lon Shapiro
The Inner Game of Writing

High quality creative & design https://guttmanshapiro.com. Former pro athlete & high quality performance coach. Teach the world one high quality joke at a time