The Story Behind The Workation Way

Lydia K
Workation Way
Published in
2 min readNov 6, 2019

A workation is trip combining work and pleasure — an opportunity to learn, grow and zone out.
I learned about the meaning of a workation when I spent 2 weeks in London 2017 and organized a one-woman conference that included day courses, seminars, workshops, gallery visits, city walks, and networking events. I spent hours researching and planned a schedule that took me to locations all over London and connected me to interesting people and new ideas.
It was a rewarding trip that contributed to both professional and personal growth.

My need for workations got stronger as busy freelance life escalated and I struggled to find work-life balance. After testing a couple of self-made workation trips I learned the importance of changing environments to find focus, to recharge in order to grow.

That’s why I decided to launch The Workation Way. To invite myself and others to look at new ways of working and recharge our entrepreneurial selves. Taking a workation requires a mindset geared towards growth, and a willingness to learn, explore and try new things.

An interest for human connection, a need to escape the digital world and a passion for bringing people together motivated me to turn this idea into reality.

A workation is also connected to the increasing trend of traveling with intention, with a desire to learn and grow while on the move.

The first edition of The Workation Way is taking place November 13–15 at Ön Ekskäret, located in the beautiful and peaceful Stockholm archipelago.

I warmly invite you to join us and explore how the change of scenery and new routines can boost productivity, creativity and growth.

All the best,

Lydia Kellam, Founder of The Workation Way

--

--

Lydia K
Workation Way

Thoughts and texts on traveling, culture and community. // Digital strategist, CEO and educator by day → http://www.kellam.co Founder of The Workation Way