5 Things I Wish I’d Known When I Became a Writer

The obstacles in my path were put there by me

Kitiara Pascoe
The Working Writer
Published in
6 min readJan 7, 2022

--

Photo by Bruce Dixon on Unsplash

They say that hindsight is 20:20 and I’m inclined to agree. When it comes to building a career as a writer, I had no idea how much my own attitude affected my work and progress. Or rather, I could see how it affected my achievements but not how it affected the negatives – the rejections and the years spent scratching around for even the tiniest bit of paid work.

I’ve been a professional writer for 10 years and in that time I’ve written for national magazines and newspapers, had one book published and another three on the way, found fantastic clients that I love working with and mentored university students who are after a job in this sprawling industry.

But my god, how I wish I’d known these things sooner and saved myself a lot of time, effort and cringeworthy moments.

However, it was only through not knowing these that I’ve learnt them. Which puts me in the nice position of being able to share them with you.

There’s a video version of this here and more tips about making a career in writing over on my Youtube Channel, The Writer Diaries. Please consider subscribing so I can continue sharing everything I know!

1. Editors are normal people

--

--

Kitiara Pascoe
The Working Writer

Senior Brand Writer | Outdoor Adventure Writer | Author of In Bed with the Atlantic (Fernhurst, 2018) | kitiarapascoe.com | Youtube: https://bit.ly/3uQPWh3