E07: AplusK, Facebook & Hollywood, Sesame Street and more

Dave Weinberg
The Workmill
Published in
2 min readSep 21, 2015

NYTimes: Matt Jacobson, Facebook’s Gatekeeper for Hollywood

“And as one of the oldest and best-dressed executives at the company, he still looks completely out of place on Facebook’s campus. “I get stopped by security all the time because they think I am a visitor,” he said. “Security will come up to me, ask to see my visitor’s badge and say, ‘Who are you?’”

Product Hunt: Ashton Kutcher AMA

Q: “What are 2–3 of the moments in your life that have most shaped the person you are today, and what meaning do you give them in hindsight?

A: Ashton Kutcher — founder Sound Ventures, Aplus:

1. 13 yo -My Twin brother had a heart transplant. That experience opened my heart to truly loving another person.
2. 18 yo- I got put in jail for 3rd degree buglary (felony offense). This taught me that the rules applied to me too
3. 25yo- my brother said to me “every time you feel sorry for me you make me less.” This gave me perspective that the life and experiences one knows is theirs (the only one they know). The line between care and judgement is thin and constantly in need of being evaluated.
4. 25 yo -I got fired from a movie by a big director. That made me aware what mattered in my life, and reset my work ethic.
5. 37 yo -I had a baby. I learned what unconditional really meant.”

Medium: What I learned in 1 year as a designer at Pocket, a top-notch startup in San Francisco.

“When a person gets assigned a project the team expects that person to own that project wholeheartedly — to drive it, pursue it, look for support wherever she/he needs and arrive at a great solution at the end.

CEO Coaching International: Business and Life Lessons From Tony Robbins, Richard Branson and My Wife

Our friend, Scott Cotter, has been advising loop88 on all things operations for a few months. A great entrepreneur, I thought I would share some of his wisdom.

ELI Talks: Be Super in Spandex (Or Not): The Jewish Lives of Comic Book Heroes

“Are those superhero summer blockbusters really Torah in disguise? In this funny and empowering talk, Rabbi Simcha Weinstein takes us on a whirlwind tour of the history of Jews in comics, calling out the names we give ourselves, and the hidden identities we might be ready to reveal.”

Fun video of the week…

WashPost: That time ‘Sesame Street’ trolled Donald Trump

Until next week :)

-Dave

--

--

Dave Weinberg
The Workmill

Partnership Practice Lead & Partner @ Recruited. Dad to three boys and a puppy. http://recruitedinc.com