Jack Johnson

LJ
The Workshop (EHS)
Published in
5 min readNov 21, 2019

For as long as I can remember, Jack Johnson’s music has been a part of my life. My parents listen to it, I grew up with it, and it is still one of the things that I’ve kept close since my childhood, therefore playing a big part in my family’s life as well. There is no other artist that I can say has had more significance in my life than Jack Johnson. No matter the time, place, or situation, Jack Johnson’s music can mold to any part of my life.

My family is a very beach-oriented family and nothing fits our general beach aesthetic more than Jack Johnson. I grew up listening to Jack Johnson because of my parent’s love for it. Both my parents love the beach and have lived at the beach during their lives. My dad especially fits the Jack Johnson vibe more so, as he was an avid surfer when he was younger. Surfing and living in Costa Rica out of college gave him the true island experience that Jack Johnson so oftenly melodates. My dad introduced this music to our family early on. Jack Johnson’s first real album came out a year before I was born, so it has always been a part of my life. Ever since, when driving to the beach, there isn’t a time I can remember where Jack Johnson was not playing in the car. My family primarily vacations in two places when it comes to the beach. In North Carolina, we have a home in Nags Head, and in South Carolina we vacation in Isle of Palms and Sullivan’s Island. Sitting on the beach hearing Jack Johnson is the epitome of a good beach day. Not only is it played in the car or on the beach, but in the house, and my favorite spot, the porch. Some of my fondest memories at the beach are when my family is sitting on the porch at night listening to music. The occasional Jack Johnson song will play and fits the mood perfectly. Being at the beach while listening to Jack Johnson is one of the best feelings as his music is made for the beach.

The contrast of coastlines is something I have always found interesting about his music and myself. Jack Johnson lives in Hawaii and primarily writes his music with a west coast and Hawaiian vibe in mind. Living on the east coast, and having not spent much time on the west coast or Hawaii, it seems odd to me how his music fits so well into my life and beach life on the east coast. When in the Bahamas or islands it is easier to pick up on his “island vibe” but somehow it still fits back on the east coast.

Not only is Jack Johnson someone I enjoy listening to, but his music seems to fit into any and most situations in my life. Of course there are exceptions, like it could not be played in the same mood as a Travis Scott song. For the most part; however, it seems to work itself into most situations and fit. His music has become an extension of my lifestyle in a way. I can listen to his music during the highest and lowest moments of my day and it always seems to fit. Since it’s been so constant throughout my life, it seems to have found a way to shape itself around my moods, therefore fitting most every situation I am in. Just like how it fits my family’s aesthetic, it fits mine too. I doesn’t really matter where I am or who I am with, his music just seems to fit. The pure instrumental aspect and range of feelings his songs bring contribute to how it is so situationally broad. His songs range from an upbeat and lighthearted tone to a slower and more mellow tone. While “My Mind is for Sale” is upbeat, “Only the Ocean” is more mellow. Both have different vibes to them, but can work in similar situations because of the continual relaxed feeling that all Jack Johnson songs have. The pure instrumental aspect give all his songs a certain vibe no matter what tone the song takes. The light guitar, drums, and his voice are all accounted for in every song, making them all similar in a way. Specifically Jack Johnson’s voice is constantly lighthearted and soft, yet deep and homey, like you know it’s right to be listening to him. I can listen to either in the car, on the beach, with friends, or just in my room and they both just fit.

When people think about Jack Johnson’s music, they generally think about “Banana Pancakes”, “Upside Down”, and “Better Together”. These songs are some of his most popular songs, so it is understandable that these are most people’s favorite songs. However, I believe his more unknown songs are better than his popular songs. Mainly all of his most popular songs come from one album, In Between Dreams, which is why I believe people overlook his other work since they are so content with just that one album. Although his more mainstream music and In Between Dreams are still good, my favorites resides in the lesser known category. “Flake”, from his first album, Brushfire Fairytales, is not his most popular song but arguably his best work. “Flake” is not only my favorite song of his, but also I think his best song, as it encaptures all aspects of what I believe to be the characteristics of a Jack Johnson song. Characteristics including true instrumental parts, soft spoken lyrics that don’t always make sense, and a calming vibe that can be played virtually anywhere. “Flake” consists of all of these aspects which is why I believe it to be his best song. There are aspects of interpretation, of course, but sometimes it’s better to listen than to try to decipher the words to make yourself feel something. Something I have found continuity in, for Jack Johnson and specifically “Flake, is that you don’t have to go searching for that feeling it brings by concentrating on the lyrics. The feeling that comes from a Jack Johnson song hits without that approach of lyrically listening, but just by listening. This aspect of not thinking too much about the lyrics contributes to his “vibe”, per say, which is why Jack Johnson’s music is better to play anytime rather than a song that suggests a more analytical listening.

Jack Johnson’s music has been a constant in my life and my family’s. Being 266 miles away from my family everyday is not normal for the average 16 year old. Going to school away has made me realize how important many small things are, like music. His music in particular reminds me of home and brings a sense of calm whenever I listen to it. Anytime I miss home I put on my Spotify playlist titled “JackJohnson” and feel a little better. I also associate it as my music. Many of my friends like Jack Johnson, but not to the extent that I do. They enjoy listening to it and know songs like, “Banana Pancakes”, “Upside Down”, and “Better Together”. Even though I have no problem with these songs, I know his music ranges much vaster than these popular songs of his. My appreciation for Jack Johnson’s music has created a significance in my life through reminding me of home, family, and the place I love the most, the beach.

--

--