Google Glass: Multitasking redefined

The whole new way of multitasking starts here.

Henry Kim
6 min readDec 20, 2013

Google Glass is one of few devices that I have always wanted to try out in 2013 when it first released to developers. It’s a device that I have never experienced that I cannot even guess how it feels on my head. After long and boring waiting, I finally got Google Glass, and I simply love it.

Inside of the box

Google Glass and its box

Google Glass was lighter than I thought. There is a long Micro USB canle and AC charger for Google Glass. Mono headset and pouch are also included. Nose pads with guides are extra. The battery was almost dead when I got Google Glass, so I had to charge first before I activate the device.

Setup

After charging Google Glass for about 30 minutes, I turned on Google Glass, and started setup using Google Glass website since I didn’t have a decent Android phone and MyGlass for iOS wasn’t available when I got mine. I went through guides with few videos which I already watched when those popped up on Google Glass YouTube channel, and created QR code which contains my Google account and Wi-Fi network information. I just scanned the code using Google Glass, and setup was done.

MyGlass and Glassware

There are Android and iOS app for controlling Google Glass, but it’s Google. You can obviously do thing on web, too. I can see the brief information about my device with optional unlock and factory reset features, add secured Wi-Fi networks, and track where my Google Glass is. Enabled Glasswares are listed with my contact cards. It’s just simple, isn’t it?

With MyGlass app on iOS and Android, I can do same thing on the web except one feature: Screencast. It shows what’s showing on Google Glass which can be used to show how Google Glass works. Android app also allows to use messages app and data connection without tethering plan. For iOS users, tethering plan is still required to use Google Glass anywhere, and Hangout still works except SMS. The app is required to use navigation system since Google Glass does not have GPS built-in. MyGlass app is basically essential for Google Glass to enable full features.

Camera

Mmmmm…! Salad! I can finally take a photo of myself making a salad!

Google Glass’s camera is surprisingly good for its purpose: snapshot. Google Glass even shoots okay photos in low-light condition. Video quality isn’t as good as photo, but still decent for its purpose. There are three ways to take a photo: say “Ok Glass, take a picture”, press a camera button, and wink. Wink is a new addition in XE12 firmware which allows Glass Explorers to take photo with just a wink. It’s working surprisingly well, and it’s bit scary for how it can be used in real life. I wouldn’t talk deeply about this feature since Google Glass is still in development, but I like and dislike the feature. For video, I either say “Ok Glass, record a video”, or press and hold the camera button. Google Glass only shoots 10-second video unless you tap the touchpad and extend the length.

Here are few sample photos I took with Google Glass:

Studying finals. My professor asked me to take off Google Glass while taking final.
My car, surrounded with melting snow.
Cooking
Choosing a wine for a night

What you should know about Google Glass

Here are some of my thoughts that people should know about Google Glass:

  • Battery drains so freaking fast. It lasted maximum 6 hours and drains even faster when the camera is constantly working.
  • On-head detection is a great way to save battery. It recognize when I put it on my head and automatically turns on the screen.
  • Head wake up is very useful that I lift my head up even without Google Glass since I got so used to it already. It turns on the screen at the angle I set. I tried few different angles, and I think 30 degree is the best for everyday use.
  • Since I have been wearing glasses since I was young, Google Glass is pretty comfortable to me. It’s not too heavy and holds tight on my head. Wearing caps or beanies is not a problem.
  • The built-in speaker is too tiny to hear in srowd. Not good for listening music either. Mono headset is better, but I would still not use it to listen music.
  • Voice commads are limited; you cannot expect Google Glass to answer any random questions like Siri. However, Google Glass directs to say the exact command, and some works without data connection.
  • The prism and frame feels like just a regular frame of glasses when I get used to it; its presence do not distract me until I move my head up to see the screen or do voice command.

Multitasking with Google Glass

You do not need to use your hands. Lift your head up, and give voice command. How simple is this? I thought Google Glass would distract me to the end as long as it’s on my head, but this is not true. I recognized Google Glass feels exactly same as my other glasses. Now blurred frames which covered a bit of my sight has a screen to look and has a processor to understand my voice. Now I look at Google Glass if I want to check time and weather. When I need to take a quick photo, I either use voice command or a camera button(I’m still not used to wink, and I’m not trying to be). Few tasks I used to use a smartphone for is now replaces with Google Glass which is more convenient and fast. I can hear news using Umano and share photos with my friends on Facebook, Google+, and Twitter. There are Glasswares like Starva Run and Cycling for workout. Google Glass can be a great device to replace what a smartphone can do with better experience. That’s why I love Google Glass so much and find its value for.

The Google Glass I have has some problems like battery, but I do not care. Now I’m just waiting for the final device that Google is going to show in public. Because I have an idea of Google Glass and how it can change my life. It can be a distraction or frustration for some. For me, it’s whole new way to multitask that can ease my life, just like my iPhone.

--

--