Keeping Things Simple

And Staying Happy

Krati Golash
The World Around me
2 min readMar 31, 2014

--

I am young and have started earning, my salary is decent for my age but i realise I am spending a lot more then I ought to.

Like many of my peers, I want to make every weekend ‘Legendary’ & yes it does involve spending a lot of money & we don’t gain much as far as getting memorable experiences are concerned.

I am a child of simple parents. We always had enough money & joy at home. We never splurged & had a simple life. We have gone through a lot of good & bad times together & I guess I was able to go through it because my parents always encouraged to keep things simple.

As I am transitioning into adulthood, I am sad to admit I am constantly drawn towards spending more & more money on things I don’t actually need, I am neglecting my health & my finances, I am doing so many things to try to make myself happy but at the end of the day I am not.

Common fears of the Quarter Life Crisis often haunt me & I don’t know what to do. I find myself at a total loss so many times, but what helps me through such times is the way my parents brought me up. The simple life where we got what we really needed, going to the market was fun & I always looked forward to visiting near & dear ones. Where as now I try to avoid everyone as much as I can. And I do not like that.

I must say we are letting money rule us & not experiences. So here at the end of this month, I promise myself that I will not let money rule my life & I will try to stay true to myself & do the things I want to do.

Last but not the least I want to thank my parents for imbibing their values in such a subtle manner. It’s what still keeps me at peace ☺

So here’s to living a simple life full of joyful experiences ☺

--

--

Krati Golash
The World Around me

This is my blog where I will be posting my musings and experiences as an Indian Girl facing the challenges of being in this world and sharing my thoughts