My Ode to Kangaroo Island

Marcia Frost
The World Awaits
Published in
5 min readFeb 26, 2020

--

Writer Marcia Frost on Emu Bay on Kangaroo Island, Australia, January 2011.

Facebook reminded me this week that I was on Kangaroo Island exactly nine years ago, on my first ever trip to Australia. I don’t really need reminding as my living room is filled with some of the beautiful photographs I took there. But, it’s not quite the same place anymore.

The fires in Australia hit especially hard this year. I was sad as I heard about what it was doing to the country and the wildlife, but when I heard that the fires were also on Kangaroo Island, it stopped me dead in my tracks. It’s hard to describe everything about this magical spot that will always remain a most special place in my heart.

I remember stepping off the plane from Adelaide to Kingscote on Kangaroo Island. The tourism board had set me up with a private guide through Exceptional Kangaroo Island to help me gather what I needed for my stories while there.

Rob was there waiting for me and asked what I wanted to see most while I was there and I said, “a beach.”

He said, “That’s not a problem, we have 50 of them.”

Jaom is one of the 50 beaches on Kangaroo Island. Photo by Marcia Frost.

He told me that most people come here to see the wildlife. I told him I wanted that too, but I had been in Australia for nearly two weeks and…

--

--

Marcia Frost
The World Awaits

A lifestyle journalist forced to slow down sports, travel, health, music & food coverage when chronic illness changed her life & career. Linktr.ee/MarciaFrost