About “the world needs” publication

mrwenchen
the world needs
Published in
2 min readFeb 18, 2019

Manifesto

Because the world needs creativity.
Because the world needs a bowl of cereal.
Because the world needs an inspiring idea whilst having breakfast.

The phrase “Believe the world needs creativity.” comes from the cover of BA course brochure of UAL, which I randomly saw on the shelve. It does not only advertise the benefits to choose UAL as the career but also sharply depicts the position we creatives are and the attitude we should hold to face the world. It also reminds me of the reason why I’m here and what goals I should achieve throughout the 3-year journey.

As a foreigner in the Western world, I’ve tried my hard to adopt the cultural difference, for example, to eat cereal for breakfast. Originally, I was quite defensive to eat only pure cookie-like ingredients as a proper breakfast. Not until acknowledging mixture with various fruits and nutritious recipes, I find it convenient and easy-preparing for busy life in London. Therefore “Believe the world needs a bowl of cereal.” comes to routine and boost my life productive.

While having breakfast, it’s always the freshest moment in a day. Cultivating a good habit of waking up early to have a proper breakfast is becoming my goal. It ends up to the conclusive statement “Believe the world needs an inspiring idea whilst having breakfast.” Look forward to the new life and opportunity surrounding!

Origin

Since Sep. 2018, it turned a new page in my life, moving to London building a graphic design career. The publication on Medium will document my own voice and experience whilst being a student in University of the Arts London (LCC). It categorises into two segments: Documentary of abroad life and Perspectives of art and design.

Documentary

Believing photography is a way of seeing our world and documenting the moment. It’s been 5 years on evolving photography skills and aesthetic points of view. In this category, it shares the different approach of life, from street views to natural sceneries or from art galleries to architectural facades.

Art and Design

It’s all about life in one of top art universities in the world, UAL (University of the Arts London). Academic life includes doing research, developing ideas and reflection of what I’ve learnt. Additionally, self-initiated projects and extracurricular experiences would be part of my stories.

--

--

mrwenchen
the world needs

對台灣教育失望,卻從來不說後悔的輟學生,設計的萌芽來自四年未完成的建築教育,於倫敦重新尋找與設計的連結,期望將設計作為思考模式,應用在不同場景帶給世界擾動。目前就讀於倫敦藝術大學(LCC, UAL)平面設計系,是個執著當下感動的影像捕捉者。