Revisiting Macro

February 2024

Aedith
see. believe.

--

Amidst of my enjoyment using EF 50mm f1.8 lens and currently deciding on Capture One or DxO PhotoLab (more on that later), I grabbed another lens as I consider to stepping my photography game up: a telephoto macro lens, the EF 100mm f2.8 L IS USM. This lens will also be my first experience buying a used tool (and so far, it worked amazingly, albeit it does showing qualities of a used lens, though not too distracting).

After reviewing my portfolio, I realize there are too many portraits of people, unlike in my earlier works where animals and plants shine more. I also realize that I enjoy taking portraits more than landscape or architecture, so owing to my past works, I decided to take another shot (pun aggressively intended) to non-human subjects, starting with plants… and insects.

Macro photography isn’t something new to me, but I’ve been lost touch with it since I haven’t doing it much. It’s like I’ve been too mesmerized with photographing people, esp. the fine ladies and the eccentric guys with their quirky dresses out there, and it’s a straight line with no U-turn.

Well, I gotta pick that passion where I left it years ago…

So I decided to do a macro photoshoot during The Year of Wood Dragon, where I visited a local orchid nursery. Well, nurseries to speak of, as this place hosts groups of nurseries that not just dabble on orchids, but aroids and vining plants as well (in other words, tropical plants in general you often see in your friends’ house).

I don’t exactly know why but every time it’s Chinese New Year, it always rains. Some say it’s the blessing from the gods for such sacred day for the people who celebrated it, and I cannot agree more. The weather was fine that day, overcast all day long with pouring rain in the evening, just right.

And with overcast weather with some bright light in the morning, there was the perfect time to take photos.

Despite being a used lens, this 100mm lens still work as great as a new lens, as expected from its reseller who stated it’s in ‘an excellent quality’. It delivered awesome shots, something that even surprised me. I still got it! And I finally got just the right lens for the job, since the 50mm one felt doesn’t perform well when it comes to macro.

I am satisfied with the results this lens has delivered. I always took little things in the world for granted, like the minuscule flowers on the grasslands or the morning dews in the chilly morning. It brings me back to the memories of little me who was exploring the vast field with blades of grasses covered with morning dews and dragonflies flew all around, hunting for flies and whatnot.

While the 100mm seems to be an overkill when it comes to fixed lens, it did a wonderful job on portraits as well. You see, another reason for me getting a 100mm is its promising almost-distortion-free portrait results in which I have tried it and man, it is flattering!

But that doesn’t mean I’ll ditch my 50mm; both of these lens serve well depending on scenarios they face. While 100mm gives the best result, it’s practically too big and therefore I don’t think it’ll suitable for indoor use, esp. when I have to work with a severely limited space. Think of taking photos of them gorgeous cosplayers in a hall congregated by a sea of people.

100mm requires lots of space to work with, so it’ll fit either in a dedicated photo studio or an outdoor area. 50mm, word per word, is still bringing that ‘nifty fifty’ performance and usability. With that said, I shall wait for the time I can do a comparison project for both of these lenses, and see if my hypothesis is right.

Also, regarding DxO PhotoLab, well… it’s not really a good news.

--

--