A Freelancer’s Roundtable: Teen Vogue’s De Elizabeth on Nailing Pitches and Negotiating Rates

Gianluca Russo
The Write Advisor
Published in
3 min readFeb 2, 2018

Welcome to A Freelancer’s Roundtable, a new installment of The Write Advisor where once a week, some of my favorite freelancers will share their knowledge and expertise on seven questions I wish I had answered before I started writing.

Photo via De’s Twitter

De Elizabeth, freelancer writer and Weekend Editor at Teen Vogue, is the first featured writer of A Freelancer’s Roundtable. With pieces published in Allure, Glamour, Romper, HelloGiggles, and more, she is well-versed in the world of freelancing. I’ve been reading De’s work since she was recapping Pretty Little Liars (aka one of the best shows ever) for Teen Vogue and am so happy to have her answering questions about networking, slaying a pitch, asking for more money, and much, much more.

  1. How can college students begin to network in the industry if they do not live in NYC?

Definitely by utilizing social media. Be an active user on Twitter, share links to things you’ve written, follow your favorite writers, editors, and publications. I got a lot of my writing jobs through Twitter — when used correctly, it can be a really powerful networking tool.

2. What is the basic breakdown of a killer pitch?

A successful pitch always contains a solid “why.” Why does this story need to be told? Why are you the person to tell this story? Also, don’t forget to include basics like: What format will your piece be? (Listicle, essay, reported piece, etc.) How many words are you estimating? What resources will you use? These are questions editors will ask, so it’s worth it to include those details from the start.

3. If you’re pitching a publication new to you, how often and when should you follow up?

Personally, I think one follow-up is all you need. And, if your piece isn’t timely, wait at least a week before following up. If your piece is pegged to a news event or a specific date, obviously you’d want to follow up sooner than that. But anything more than a second email errs on the territory of obnoxious, IMO.

4. What tips do you have for negotiating rates?

It never hurts to ask for more money, especially if you’ve written for that publication before. My personal style is to always be polite and appear flexible, rather than make demands or offer ultimatums. I’ve found that editors are often willing to work with me on rates, but it’s also important to understand that sometimes a budget is out of your editor’s hands.

5. What tips do you have when it comes to invoicing?

Invoice on time, and make sure your invoices are clean and easy to read. (If you have the Pages app for Mac, there’s an invoice template built-in that I find super user-friendly.) Make sure you know what the site’s turnaround time is for payment (some sites will do it within a couple of weeks, others have a net-30 days rule.) But if that expected payment date has passed, follow up consistently until you get your money.

6. What is one mistake you’ve made in your career that you wish you could go back and change?

I wrote for free for WAY too long. At first, I was just so excited to have a byline and have my words out there that I didn’t care about money (part of this was because writing was, at first, a hobby). Looking back, I realize that those sites were profiting off of my content consistently, and I should have reached out to my editors to at least inquire about establishing a rate.

7. What is one thing you wish you knew before you started freelancing?

Get an accountant ASAP. Doing your taxes is a nightmare without one! And make sure you pay estimates four times a year. During my first year freelancing, I didn’t pay quarterlies, and I ended up owing a horrific amount of money at tax time.

Make sure to follow De on Twitter and Instagram and check out her new blog, Edits from Motherhood. She also offers consulting services if you need help with anything from pitching to branding to editing.

Spread the love and give this publication a follow. To read my work in Teen Vogue, INSIDER, Brit+Co, Bust Magazine, Romper, Paste Magazine, The Financial Diet and more, visit GianlucaRusso.webs.com and connect with me on social media @G_Russo1.

--

--

Gianluca Russo
The Write Advisor

Writer/Editor/Social Media Manager. Words in BUST Magazine, Brit+Co, Paste Magazine, Playbill and more.