This Is For You, For Me And For Every Student Whose Career Is About To Start

Gianluca Russo
The Write Advisor
Published in
3 min readJan 8, 2018
Via Pixabay

2018 is a big year for me: In a few weeks, I’ll be starting my senior year of college, meaning that in less than 12 months, I’ll be graduating from journalism school, applying to full-time media jobs and, hopefully, be making the long-awaited move to New York City.

Looking back, 18-year-old me would be shook at how far I’ve come. At the start of my freshman year, I was studying law at a less-than-reputable community college with no idea about who I was or what I wanted from life. In a time of distress, I started a (very crappy) blog that launched what would soon become my career.

I get asked often from friends and fellow journalism students how I got published in Teen Vogue, INSIDER, Brit+Co, BUST Magazine, Paste Magazine and more before even graduating. They’re even more shocked to know that I’ve only been studying journalism for one semester (yes, I did graduate from that community college with a degree in law. L-O-Freaking-L). The answer is far from simple, but here’s what I can say.

I wouldn’t have gotten this far without the gracious help of other writers. When I started writing, I searched Google every night for “How To Become A Magazine Writer” and “How To Get Paid Writing.” My mother is a town clerk, my father an electrician, my oldest brother a computer tech and my other brother a scientist — needless to say, I knew nothing about this crazy industry. Google really was my only guide.

Soon enough, however, I began making friends and connections within the industry and found some amazing writers who I admired so much. These people were willing to speak with me and offer guidance, and without them, plain and simple, I would not be where I am today.

As graduation draws closer each day, I’m reminded that very soon, my friends and I will be leaping into the ever-changing world that is journalism. And yeah, I’m scared. Some of my friends are even terrified because when you go to a school that doesn’t have a renowned journalism program, it’s easy to feel behind. That’s why I’m starting this blog.

The Write Advisor is intended to be a college student’s guide to navigating the world of journalism. Yes, this career path can be daunting, scary and, at times, terrifying. That’s exactly why we need The Write Advisor: to help prepare college students for the crazy journey ahead.

The Write Advisor will frequently feature writers who I personally look up to that will offer advice to students who are about to graduate and make their mark on the page. With some guidance, some advice and some inside knowledge, no one will be afraid of what the future of journalism holds in store from them, not you nor I.

Journalism students, let’s freaking do this.

Spread the love and give this publication a follow. To read my work in Teen Vogue, INSIDER, Brit+Co, Bust Magazine, Romper, Paste Magazine, The Financial Diet and more, visit GianlucaRusso.webs.com and connect with me on social media @G_Russo1.

--

--

Gianluca Russo
The Write Advisor

Writer/Editor/Social Media Manager. Words in BUST Magazine, Brit+Co, Paste Magazine, Playbill and more.