How to Balance Your Writing Life

Mason Sabre
The Indie Author Project
10 min readAug 23, 2022

--

With business, family and a day job

Photo by Riccardo Annandale on Unsplash

It’s hard. Especially in the indie author world where you feel like you have to do all the things all at once. If you’re not on Tiktok, of making Facebook adverts, or writing a book a month and rapid releasing, chances are you’re not going to make it … at least, that’s the way it feels and that’s the way it’s often sold.

There are so many things we have to do as indie authors. It isn’t like it was a decade ago when indie publishing was just starting out. You know, back then, you wrote your book, edited it, put a cover on it, put it out onto the vendors, and boom, your book sold.

Back then, it was fairly easy to make sales, and to make a living, but now, the indie world has grown exponentially, and don’t get me wrong, this is a wonderful thing. Hundreds and thousands of people are getting to live their dream every single day. But the downside to that is, it’s not as easy to get your books out there and in front of your target readers. We have to work hard at it.

I had this reality check a few years ago when I put my first book out. I remember selling my first copy and then my next, and in the first month, I sold eleven copies, which I know doesn’t seem like a lot, but then a month later, I sold over a thousand copies and I couldn’t believe it. These people were actually buying…

--

--

Mason Sabre
The Indie Author Project

Mason is an author and a teacher. He loves to write and read and will always be a life-long learner. https://www.patreon.com/masonsabre