Write Like J K Rowling

Mason Sabre
The Indie Author Project
8 min readOct 31, 2019

--

Photo by Katlyn Giberson on Unsplash

All writers have their own way of doing things, you, me, the famous writers like Rowling and King. Through years of writing and perfecting their craft, they have also, maybe unwillingly, fallen into a writing process that is their own.

I had someone say to me yesterday, they wanted to be a writer, but they don’t know where to start. of course, my first answer is always to tell them to write. I mean, duh? You want to be a writer; then you have to write. But it really is more than that. I know.

I think I was lucky in that I started writing when I was a child. I never had that overthinking moment. I didn’t have an audience to perform for, and writing was the act of thinking of a character and a situation and writing about them — it as about having fun, entertaining myself and just enjoying the process.

Of course, as I have got older and more experienced, and wiser (apparently), I have learnt a lot about the other sides of writing. Everything from outlining to plotting … yes, they are different things. But more than that, since going full-time with my writing, I have learnt there has to be a process, a physical one. I can’t just leave it that I’ll write when I feel like it or when the mood takes me. It doesn’t work like that. You have to write and you have to do it every day.

--

--

Mason Sabre
The Indie Author Project

Mason is an author and a teacher. He loves to write and read and will always be a life-long learner. https://www.patreon.com/masonsabre