On Medium

90% of New Writers on Medium Will Quit

Be part of the 10% that thrives. These 7 tips will help you do that

Torshie Torto
The Write Network
Published in
10 min readApr 17, 2023

--

Created by the Author on Canva

I love reading on Medium as much as I love writing.

Almost every day, I would find the time to read as many stories as I could, whether from my followers, people I follow, or random writers. And that’s how I came across a story about how to grow an audience on Medium.

Written back in August 2021 by one of the top writers, it had amassed thousands of claps and several hundreds of comments.

I was intrigued. So as I often did whenever comments were involved, I went to read what the people had to say about the story.

Most people found the story helpful, just as I did. As I read more and more comments, I found a common theme.

Almost all the commenters were new writers at the time. They had begun writing on Medium only a few days ago — that was in August 2021. They were grateful for the advice on how to grow their following and promised to apply it and make the best of it.

I got curious. If these people were new writers in August 2021, how have things turned out for them now in April 2023? Did they really apply the knowledge they were given?

--

--