On Medium

My Story Went Viral on Medium: This is What I Learned About Writing a Viral Story

Lesson #1: You don’t write a viral story. You write a vital story

Torshie Torto
The Write Network
Published in
8 min readApr 3, 2023

--

Created by the Author with Canva

Back in February, I published a story about my journey on Medium.

Little did I know that it would resonate with so many readers on the platform. By the end of March, the story had racked up over two thousand claps and almost a hundred comments.

That was when it hit me — holy shit, I’ve gone viral.

Or semi-viral, more accurately.

Honestly, it’s all the same to me. I’d never seen so many claps or comments on any of my stories until then.

I read it over and over, wondering why it became my most popular story. I mean, it wasn’t that special compared to everything else I’d published on Medium.

After an in-depth analysis, I learned a few things about writing a viral story.

Lesson #1: You don’t write a viral story, you write a vital story.

The 4th of February marked my three-month anniversary as a writer on Medium. It had taken every ounce of my willpower to persist that long, so to celebrate, I decided to write a story…

--

--