Claire Wineland, from Coast Guard Compass

How to Overcome Regret From a Girl With a Chronic Fatal Illness

Sarah Cy
The Write Purpose

--

Claire Wineland was born with cystic fibrosis (CF), a genetic disease that has no cure.

For those unfamiliar with CF, it is chronic, deadly (average life expectancy: 37), and requires massive effort and full-time maintenance to keep sufferers alive.

Claire’s Story

I read Claire’s book when I was working as an intern for a writer. At the time, I didn’t know anything about CF, but learned a lot about how the condition through Claire’s story.

Afterwards, I looked her up and found that she’d given a TED talk and was an activist and entrepreneur who had her own non-profit organization (she also has her own wikipedia page, look it up!)

Now, as a voracious reader, I’ve read many, many biographies and autobiographies. I’ve read of people who’ve suffered more or accomplished more than Claire, and perhaps Claire’s story would have just been another nice story to file away in the back of my memory if not for one thing.

Even now

Not long after reading Claire’s story, I found a passage in the book of Joel:

“Even now,” declares the Lord, “return to me with all your heart, with fasting, weeping, and mourning. Rend your heart and not your garments. Return to the Lord your God for he is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and abounding in love… (Joel 2:12)

It was those two words: EVEN NOW, that got me.

Many times, in moments of despair, I think to myself that I have wasted my life, wasted my time, accomplished nothing worthwhile, and that even if I start now, I will never be what I could have been.

But those two words from that verse resonated with me: EVEN NOW…even now, it isn’t too late. Even now, you can still change. Even now, there are things to appreciate.

That verse made me recall something that Claire Wineland had written in the book I’d just read:

Because CF is a progressive disease, Claire will get sicker as she grows older. At age 7, Claire was much healthier than she was at 15 (when she wrote the book).

But Claire said, instead of regretting that she is not as healthy as her 7-year-old self, she thinks about how she will feel when she is 20 and how 20-year-old Claire will not be able to do the things 15-year-old Claire can do.

So instead of crying over her lost 7-year-old self, Claire said she would enjoy her healthier-than-20 15-year-old present, and squeeze every drop of happiness and experience she can get out of it, now.

Today’s the day

When I went home after my internship that day, I wrote in my journal:

Who knows if a year from now, or sooner than that, I might be struck with a pain, a disease, an infirmity? Who knows if my health and wholeness is not a fleeting thing I will only get to enjoy now? That’s what I should be doing, like Claire, appreciating and using what I have, now.

So basically, I heard God telling me, “Even now, it’s not too late. Even now, you can still turn around and serve Me and do what makes Me and you both happy.”

Today, Claire Wineland is 21. I have also grown older, and have faced/am facing that health crisis that I speculated about when I was a lowly intern reading the autobiography of a girl with cystic fibrosis.

My condition, unlike Claire’s, has the potential to improve, but it may not. I cannot be sure. But that is not what I need to focus on today.

Today, it is more important than ever to remember the lesson of EVEN NOW.

Ready to be a Brilliant Writer?

I’ve created The Brilliant Writer Checklist to help you clarify your message, reach more readers, and change the world with your words.

Get the checklist here!

--

--

Sarah Cy
The Write Purpose

(aka The Scylighter). Writer, musician, reader, daughter. Join our Merry Band, become a Brilliant Writer, and dazzle your readers! BeABrilliantWriter.com