About TWA and Submission Guidelines

James Master
The Writer’s Apocalypse
2 min readSep 30, 2023

--

TWA is all about writers helping writers survive the wasteland of the literary world. Come join us!

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

About TWA

The Writer’s Apocalypse is something that I’ve been cooking up for a long time. The idea didn’t start until 2012 when I took a college course called W351: Writing for the Web. The course was self-explanatory. One of the things we had to do was start a website. My website was a blog about surviving the zombie apocalypse. Continuing to write on the blog, it had shifted from zombies to writing life. When I started working for the newspaper, the one I’m still with, they had me start a column. I called it Mastering the Craft.

All these years, The Writer’s Apocalypse has stuck, and I never knew when I was going to make the switch. I had tried to get my other writer friends to contribute to my website, but that plan failed. Now, as I start writing on Medium, I’ve discovered what I’ve been waiting for.

Submission Guidelines

TWA accepts writers that like to write about book reviews, movie reviews, fiction, and general rants about the writing life.

Book and Movie Reviews:

  • Old, new, we review them all. If another writer reviews a book and you have a different opinion about it, by all means write a review sharing your viewpoints about it. We all have different opinions, let’s hear them! Please use the tags “Book Review” and “Movie Review” when submitting.

Fiction:

  • Anything goes as long as the content stays within the R-Rated level. Erotica, while it has its own place on Medium, will not be accepted. Please use the tag “Fiction” when submitting.

Mastering the Craft:

  • TWA wants to hear about your writing process, your writing life, your writing tips and tricks. What we don’t want to hear about are writers bashing other writers. TWA is all about surviving the literary wasteland… but with integrity and respect for our fellow writers. Please use the tag “Writing Life” when submitting.

All submissions are to be edited to the best of the author’s ability. All submissions will be read, and changes may be requested prior to submission. If photos are used, they are required to be properly cited.

If you’d like to write for The Writing Apocalypse, please comment below.

Thanks!

James Master, founder of The Writer’s Apocalypse

James Master (@JamesTheMaster) / X (twitter.com)

--

--