Movie Review: Deadpool & Wolverine (2024)

James Master
The Writer’s Apocalypse
4 min readJul 26, 2024

--

Does Marvel’s Jesus live up to the hype? Read the non-spoiler review here!

Deadpool & Wolverine | Rotten Tomatoes

When I heard that Disney was bringing back Ryan Reynolds as the Merc with the Mouth, I had mixed feelings. Sure, I was happy that Deadpool was coming back for another film. I loved the first two films. Ryan Reynolds as the fourth wall breaking, obscenity slinging, katana wielding, gunslinging hero was perfect casting. However, with Disney being more of a family friendly type of company, I was bit unsure about how far they would allow the writers and director to push the limits of the R rating.

Don’t worry, I’m going to keep this review spoiler free.

I’m happy to report that I had nothing to fear. In fact, I think they went a little harder on vulgar language and the sexual innuendos and jokes.

The film picks up after the second film with Wade Wilson, aka Deadpool, played by Ryan Reynolds. He’s hung up the red and black suit and is trying to make an effort, not exactly a maximum one, at a regular life including a regular daytime job. As the trailers have shown, the Time Variance Authority comes knocking at Wade’s door and recruits him to help save the multiverse. And along the way, Wade bumps into the most arguably popular Marvel comic book character, Wolverine who is, of course, played by Hugh Jackman. Really, it’s more…

--

--